Anywhere But Here

Alternative

Mayday Parade’s latest album was release on October 5th of this year. However, I didn’t listen to ‘Anywhere But Here’ until tonight. Sure I’ve listened to their single “The Silence” on repeat, but I never got around to listening to the entire album.

I liked it. But didn’t love it. I felt like ‘A Lesson In Romantics’ had more substance. But what I can say about ‘Anywhere But Here’ is that it is VERY cohesive, which I admire greatly. It’s often hard to find albums that have songs that blend so well. And it’s not even bad blending, where every song sounds the same. It’s the kind of blending that makes you feel like you’re listening to a really long song with lots of nice lyrics.

My biggest complaint is the lack of duet like singing. In ‘A Lesson In Romantics’ and even in the ‘Tales Told By Dead Friends-EP’ there are the shared lyrics and dual vocals. Just because they lost a key member (Lancaster) does NOT mean they couldn’t…I dunno..work around it. I’m just disappointed in that aspect being nonexistent.

All in all. The album isn’t bad. It’s okay. It might grow on me after a few listens.

“The Silence” though…great song. I love it a lot. So I definitely recommend that song.

And if you aren’t familiar with Mayday Parade, you may find this album spectacular. I dunno though. I had high hopes based on their previous releases. Judge for yourself =]

Michaela

~ by mdaniellew on November 17, 2009.

One Response to “Anywhere But Here”

  1. This is a great CD!! i love it. i have this one. even though they have come out with some better cds this is a good one 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
